RemedySpot.com
Sign in to follow this  
Guest guest

Re: considering implants

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Well, I can't tell you what to do, but I will say that I have been sick with an autoimmune illness relating to a history of implants now for over 15 years. The first question that I have been routinely asked at every Rheumatologist I have seen is, "Does anyone in your family have any autoimmune disease?" Of course the answer is yes....

I studied to be an RN, lacking two courses of completing my degree. I still knew little about the problems people face with autoimmune disorders or the pain they suffer with. I thought arthritis was something that old people got and it caused some pain in their joints... Well, at 48, I got the message loud and clear... It is definitely NOT the pain you hear about in the Advil ads on television and it is definitely NOT just in the joints...

Further, once the immune system makes autoantibodies against various tissues in your body, it will always be programmed (so to speak) to do this. Removal of foreign devices does not guarantee that your problems will go away... Autoantibodies remain-these are the crux of various autoimmune disorders. These levels can rise and fall with flareups of the diseases they cause.

My implants were removed 15 years ago. The leakage and rupture has affected my health to a degree I could never have imagined. My daughter, following in my footsteps, also got implants. When health issues became a problem, her Neurologist got the implant package insert, which said something to the effect that if the patient developed autoimmune issues (cannot recall exact wording), the implants should be removed... The letter he wrote to her insurance company, stating this, was enough to get them to pay for explantation-something I don't think most insurances will pay for now...