RemedySpot.com
Sign in to follow this  
Guest guest

Applying for SSDI (Social Security Disability Insurance)

Rate this topic

Guest guest

There have been a couple of questions regarding applying for SSDI in the last couple of days so I thought I'd share what I've learned about the process, learned from my own experience and the experiences of other members on this board. When we apply for SSDI it's likely our financial situations are to put it mildly stressed. We want the application to go through quickly with as few delays as possible. There are some things we have no control over and there are other things that we can do that may move the process along faster.

Please keep in mind I'm no expert on this, I can only share what I've found out that may help.

First thing I did and would recommend is to get the "Adult Disabilty Starter Kit" from www.socialsecurity.gov. All of the worksheets and checklists can be downloaded and printed from the website. This stuff will answer some questions and help you to know what documents you need to gather before you proceed with the appliacation.

Next make absolutely certain that your physician knows that your are applying for disability and supports your application. This is critical. Social Security will give tremendous weight to your doctors opinions. If he's not supportive, you will have difficulty being approved.

Make copies of all your medical records to submit with your application. Doctors notes, copies of bloodwork reports, CD's with your CT scans, pulmonary function test reports, biopsy results etc. This is all stuff they will need anyway and it will take time for them to chase after it and obtain it from your doctors. If you provide all this from the beginning it will shorten the process.