Guest guest Posted September 20, 2004 Report Posted September 20, 2004 Please see below the info from the McCanns website. Everyone, of course, must make their own decisions regarding whatever they choose to eat. I am not advocating eating oats or not eating oats. Barbara Here's the statement from www.mccanns.ie Gluten FreeAre McCann's Oat products gluten free? All McCann’s oat products are processed in a dedicated oatmeal mill that handles only oatmeal. In the supply chain between farm and mill, there is a possible cross contamination with other grains, such as wheat and barley but we reckon that the level of non-oat grains to be less than 0.05%. Cleaning equipment within the milling process would remove the vast majority of these grains along with other elements such as stones, straw etc. But we cannot guarantee that McCann’s oats are totally gluten free and we recommend that consumers use their own judgment as to whether they wish to use our oatmeal or not. Many celiacs can tolerate our oatmeal products without any adverse effect but they may not suit those who are particularly sensitive. Disclaimer --- I am a volunteer and not a medical expert, but I can share with you information that I have found helpful. Please contact your medical professional for medical advice regarding your situation. Please verify the gluten free status of products often for your own protection. Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.